Sister Act REVIEW

On the 13th August 2016 I managed to catch the Sister Act UK tour at it’s very first venue, the Curve Theatre in Leicester. It was a matinee and a ‘relaxed performance’ so I’m not sure if I really got the full affect but if not you’re certainly in for a treat if you happen to see a full on performance.

As most people know, the story is about the sassy diva Deloris Van Cartier who has to hide from her boyfriend after witnessing a crime, and where better to hide this wannabe star…than a convent. The story progresses from their and portrays how the bond grows between the sisters and Deloris. They learn from each other and work together to try and overcome what might lie ahead.

We we warned before watching the show that we would be seeing the understudy for Deloris and not Alexandra Burke which I accepted and so I was prepared to see someone else. It just so happens that someone else was Joanna Francis and I have to say I thought she was excellent! She suited the role perfectly and even though it perhaps took a little time to warm up to her (or maybe the show in general) by the end I thoroughly enjoyed it! Some stand out parts for me would have to be Take Me To Heaven and Raise Your Voice- They are just such ‘feel good’ songs that make you want to get up and boogie!

I have to admit I was very much looking forward to seeing Jon Robyns perform again as he played the role of Eddie. He was so hilarious and I always have so much fun watching him on stage- he’s such an amazing performer!

Overall, it was such a great show with a fantastic cast and I hope maybe I can see it again in one of its future venues. I would definitely recommend it as a brill family show, it’s #fabulousbaby

 

Charlotte

 

Leave a Reply

